Tofu Bean Sprout Soup

With the cool weather comes the need for baking and soup making (like my little rhyme there?). As you know I have been trying to retrain myself to eat intuitively. It’s kind of a slow and steady process but I’m happy to say I’ve lost 13 pounds! Even with these improvements some days I just feel ravenous and find myself wanting to eat a massive quantity of everything! In order to allow myself to be able to eat more and hopefully feel full I made myself a big pot of bean sprout soup today. As weird as it sounds… I absolutely love this stuff. I especially craved it when I was pregnant. It’s low in calories and it fills you up fast. A little back story…

A few years ago my mom came across Asian dramas (with an emphasis on the Korean dramas) and a whole new world opened up to us. Asian romances and Asian food! Our love of the Korean culture even pushed my mom to sign up for a Korean exchange student who lived with us for nearly a year. We had so much fun learning her culture and tasting the new foods she shared with us. Bean sprout soup was definitely a “love at first bite” for me.

It’s so yummy and a nice addition is tofu and rice. This soup is gluten free as well as paleo if you forego the rice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Tofu Bean Sprout Soup
(Slightly Adapted from Bap Story)

6 cups water
200g bean sprouts (about 2 cups)
6 dried anchovies (or 1-1/2 tsp. dashi)
1 piece of dried kelp
2 inch slice of daikon radish
7 ounces firm tofu
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon Korean red chili powder
2 tablespoons chopped green onions

Add water, anchovies (or dashi), kelp and daikon radish to pan. Bring to a boil, lower heat to medium and cook for 4-5 minutes.

Remove kelp and anchovies. Add bean sprouts and tofu. Cover pan with lid and increase heat. Bring to a boil for about 2 minutes.

Then add salt, Korean red chili powder and green onion. Let simmer for a few minutes and serve. To make it a little more filling you can add a 1/2 cup rice to your bowl and its delicious. If you are Paleo then leave out the rice and its just as tasty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

