Pear Coffee Cake

I have been trying to create weekly menus so I can get my grocery shopping done all once and be prepared since I typically don’t always have a car if I need something.

My mom and I came up with a schedule to help us to eat healthier as well a give us more variety. I don’t know about you but sometimes I just forget what I normally make and if I’ve not planned out a dinner then we are more likely to pick up pizza or go out for a burger.

Weekly Schedule:
Sundays: Potatoes
Mondays: Salad
Tuesdays: Pasta
Wednesdays: Rice
Thursdays: Squash
Fridays: Sandwiches
Saturdays: Beans

So for dinner on those days we incorporate these foods. They don’t have to be the main dish but at least need to be a part of the meal. Today is Sunday so I am making biscuits and gravy with hash browns (potato).

Since Mondays are salad days we figured we could have a sweeter breakfast. This is the day we may want to enjoy banana bread, coffee cake or donut as our morning meal since our dinner is on the lighter side (if not drenched in dressing…hehe).

Manly gets up early to commute to school… which is a 2 hour drive to get
there. I wanted to have a yummy breakfast all set and ready to go for him in the morning so I whipped up a Pear Coffee Cake. We can easily reheat it in the morning and enjoy a piece with our much loved coffee!

I may have already enjoyed a slice with coffee as my afternoon snack… I needed to see how it turned out 😉

20140209-144830.jpg
I adapted this from JoytheBaker.com

Pear Coffee Cake
1-1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 Cup White Flour
2 Tsp. Baking Powder
1 Tsp. Baking Soda
3/4 Tsp. Salt
1 Tsp. Cinnamon
1/2 Tsp. Ground Ginger
1/2 Tsp. Ground Nutmeg
1/4 Cup + 2 Tbs. White Sugar
1/4 Cup + 2 Tbs. Brown Sugar
4 Tbs. Butter Melted
1/4 Cup Oil
2 Large Eggs
1 Cup Buttermilk (or 1 Cup Milk + 1 Tbs. Lemon Juice or Vinegar)
2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 Pears Unpeeled, Cored and Sliced Into Cubes

Topping:
1/4 Cup White Flour
1/4 Cup Old Fashioned Oats
3 Tbs. Brown Sugar
1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon
Pinch of Salt
2 Tbs. Cold Butter Cut into Small Pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8×8 square baking pan.

Combine dry ingredients together in medium size bowl, mix together and set aside. In small bowl add butter, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla. Whisk together and add to dry ingredients. Stir together and then add diced pears to the batter. Mix until just combined. Pour into greased pan.

For the crumb topping combine the dry ingredients. Add in the butter and cut together with pastry knife. Spread over the top of cake.

Bake in the oven for 35 to 45 minutes. Enjoy with a hot cup of coffee.

20140209-144637.jpg

Leave a Reply

