One Pan Pasta Alfredo

I have been thinking of switching over to whole wheat pasta so as to add more fiber to our diet. I had some white pasta in the cupboard though and thought I’d try to use the rest of it up before I made the change.

I was just going to cook up some pasta, throw in a little butter and garlic powder and top it with a sprinkle of cheese…. But wait… Didn’t I see a recipe for one pan fettuccine Alfredo?

I opted to try out this recipe to see if it was a keeper and was very happy to find it is. I made no changes to the recipe besides the noodle choice and it was perfect. You can easily cut the recipe in half for smaller portions like I did.

20140208-125907.jpg

One Pan Pasta Alfredo from Number 2 Pencil
8 ounces Pasta (I used mini farfalle but the original recipe calls for fettuccine)
2 Cups Water
1 Cup Heavy Cream
4 Tbs. Butter
1/2 Tsp. Salt
Fresh Ground Pepper
1 Whole Garlic Clove Peeled
2 Cups Parmesan Cheese

To pan add pasta, cream, water, butter, salt, pepper and garlic. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes until pasta is cooked through. Remove from heat. Take out garlic and throw away. Add Parmesan cheese. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

