4/21: Pumpkin Flax Granola with Turkey Sausage and Coffee

Image

This morning I woke up with a new resolve to get myself back on track and to be 100% gluten free.

When I was 4 months pregnant with my son I decided to be gluten free because I had read of the health benefits of cutting it out as well as learning how addicting it is. Since I already have difficulty with moderation I figured this would help keep me from having more cravings than I already did. Because of this choice I lost 6 pounds within the first month and was still eating a healthy amount for being pregnant.

I am positive being gluten free is the reason I did not gain tons of weight while being pregnant. I have so many friends who get huge after having kids and I’m so thankful I didn’t. This choice was beneficial because when gluten free you can’t go out to eat where ever you want. We ended up cooking at home more often because there were less options at restaurants and it was more expensive. After about 8 months of this dedication and seeing positive changes in weight loss and having more energy we (my mom did this too) decided to add in one free day. Once a week we could eat anything. We missed some of our old friends… tortillas, donuts, cake, fried chicken, etc. This was a TERRIBLE choice. Since wheat is addictive it just gave us our cravings back and we went from making these excellent choices to throwing away all our hard work. Even though we still eat gluten free stuff my eating is still out of control when I let the wheat back in. I need to get back on track and eliminate wheat.

Feeling better about this choice I managed to get my buns back in the kitchen to have some pumpkin flax granola, turkey sausage and coffee with cream.

Leave a Reply

