4/11: Honey Mustard Ham & Brussel Sprouts with Cheesy Coconut Milk Grits

Image

For lunch today I decided to create something new with the leftovers we had in our fridge. I threw 2 oz. of ham (100 calories) and steamed Brussel sprouts (50 calories) in a pan to saute with a little of the sweet glaze from the ham. This made me think of one of my favorite sandwiches… hot ham and cheese with mustard. To recreate this goodness I added a little mustard to the pan. For a complete meal I still needed a carb and I liked the idea of having something cheesy to create this deconstructed sandwich. I whipped up some grits (110 calories) in the microwave, added a 1/2 ounce of cheddar cheese (55 calories) and 1 tbs. of coconut milk (20 calories and another thing needing to be used up). I placed the grits on a plate and topped them with the ham and brussel sprouts. It was so good! One of my new favorite lunches! Total lunch = 335 calories.

Leave a Reply

