4/6: Chicken & Shrimp Fried Rice Substituted with Cauliflower

4/6: Chicken & Shrimp Fried Rice Substituted with Cauliflower

Today I made fried rice using grated cauliflower instead of rice. I accidentally made it a little spicier than I liked so I did add 1/4 cup of rice to it at the end.

I am always willing to try a healthier version of something that I love. If I can eat a larger quantity with less calories than I’m willing. Some changes aren’t worth it though and I’m not sure I think cauliflower is a worth it change. If you make regular fried rice and you put lots of veggies and some protein in it then using 1/2 cup rice goes a long way. You have a nice size portion and your meal wouldn’t be above 260 calories (less with certain changes). For this portion size I realized I would use half as much chicken, that alone would take off 25 calories.

This dish was 240 calories. If I had not added the 1/4 cup rice then it would have only been 180 calories. Yes, cauliflower is less calories but it only tasted fine to me. I like delicious! So in my opinion… stick with rice.

Leave a Reply

