4/5: Brussel Sprouts with Turkey Bacon

4/5: Brussel Sprouts with Turkey Bacon

I really love brussel sprouts but once I saute them in butter the healthy factor goes down the drain. Today my goal was to figure how to make them taste good without butter. I was very happy with the results! Since I had eaten candy I needed a healthier, low calorie food to get me through to dinner.

Here’s what I came up with:

Brussel Sprouts with Turkey Bacon
1 serving; 80 calories
5 brussel sprouts
1 slice Jennie-O thick cut bacon
1/8 tsp. garlic salt

Spray pan with pam, cook the turkey bacon (40 calories) then add in the brussel sprouts and sprinkle with a little garlic salt. Chop up bacon and mix in with sprouts. Cook on medium high to brown the sprouts a little. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “4/5: Brussel Sprouts with Turkey Bacon

  1. I love this! I try to eat healthy (well, most of the time… I can never resist chocolate cake or brownies!), but most of the brussels sprouts recipes that I see use bacon — and lots of it. What a great idea to substitute turkey bacon!

  2. Hehe.. I am the same way! Bring on the chocolate cake! Thankfully I still like veggies to help balance my diet. I want to try coming up with some healthier dessert options as well. I love to bake and it’s so hard for me not to binge, plus most goodies have enough calories to last the whole day!

Leave a Reply

