4/5: Baked Oatmeal with Turkey Bacon

4/5: Baked Oatmeal with Turkey Bacon

Even though I was tired I forced myself to try out a new recipe, baked oatmeal. My sister-in-law had made it for us once and I loved it. In addition to the oatmeal (170 calories) I had a 1/2 piece of turkey bacon (20 calories). Normally I would have eaten a full piece but I shared it with Mumu and didn’t feel like making another slice.

I tried to make this healthier than the recipes I saw so this is what I came up with:

Baked Oatmeal
170 calories per serving; 12 servings

3 cups oats
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup 1% milk
3 egg whites
3 tablespoons melted butter
3/4 cup apple sauce
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together oats, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt.  Add in milk, egg whites, melted butter, apple sauce, and vanilla.  Stir together. Spread oat mixture into a 9×13 greased pan.

Bake for 35-40 minutes.

One thought on “4/5: Baked Oatmeal with Turkey Bacon

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Time | Mumu Kutchu

Leave a Reply

