4/4: Whipped Banana Oatmeal and Coffee with Cream

4/4: Whipped Banana Oatmeal and Coffee with Cream

This morning I tried a new recipe I found on Pinterest. The thing I like about Pinterest is it potentially connects you to other blogs and websites you’ve never heard of before. In this case I came across Kath Eats Real Food and fell in love with her blog. She has a whole page dedicated to oatmeal! I plan on working my way through those delicious looking recipes!

Today I tried her whipped banana oatmeal. It’s nice and healthy because the only sweetener in the recipe is the banana.

Whipped Banana Oatmeal

1/3 cup old fashioned oats
1/3 cup milk (I used 1% for less calories)
2/3 cup water (or a little less for thicker oatmeal)
1/2 a banana, sliced
1/2 tbsp chia seeds
Pinch of kosher salt
Vanilla, stirred in at end

In a small pan mix together oats, milk, water, chia seeds and banana. Cook on medium. Once it starts to bubble stir off and on for about 5 minutes. The banana will gradually dissolve (if you want to call it that) into the oats and create a nice creamy texture. Once the oats are cooked through add in the vanilla and a pinch of salt. Serve and top with something yummy! I put a dollop of peanut butter and some coconut on top.

Leave a Reply

